Five things

By fivethings

Doggy Wilson

1. A Sunday spent indoors - sleeping, reading the paper, eating a little, watching a movie, dozing again. The movie was Some Like It Hot. God that woman knew how to wear a dress.

2. Not feeling too much like a grown up today. Hiding from being grown up for one day is alright. I can start again tomorrow, tonight I am having crisps for tea.

3. This is Des Wilson. Des is more commonly known as Doggy Wilson. Doggy was made by my Gran when I was wee. He is a pyjama case too, but now, at 30, his main job as sole survivor of my soft toy collection, is to sit with my books and come out sometimes when I don't feel like a grown up.

4. The Gran who made this for me was a formidable woman. I am lucky to have had two incredibly interesting, strong and exceptional woman as grand mothers. The other one tends to get a lot more of the attention in our family folklore (due to a catalogue of stories many based on her criminal activities) but this Gran came from Uist, spoke gaelic and latterly lived in a state of heightened impatience with her west Highland terrier, Freddy. Freddy was the stupidest dog I have ever met who looked not unlike Doggy Wilson and drove her insane. She got him from my uncle as a surprise birthday present one year. She was expecting a radio. Neither Freddy or the Uncle were ever really forgiven.

5. Neither of those woman ever got the chance to take a break from being a grown up. Not once, not even when they were children, really. I am lucky. But I should remember that, think about what that really means and maybe have something a little heartier for dinner than crisps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.