Spotted but Anonymous

Nothing, absolutely nothing would have induced me to venture forth into the outside world today.

Apart from the fact that I had the house to myself, the rain was constant with the sort of hopelessness that you knew it was never going to stop.

The trenches outside which masquerade as landscaped ground awaiting grass seed, were filled with water and the patio gutter was singing loudly with a throaty gurgling sound.

The paths were puddled, the grass was sodden and even the seagulls were grounded except for brief sorties into the air, perhaps to dry their wings.
I'm sure the poor worms were caught between drowning in their holes underground or being swallowed alive when they wriggled to the surface.

With his Lordship away on the hills getting soaked, I invited a friend round for coffee so that we could engage in a bit of girlie chatter without any male interruption.
This is yet another friend of crafty talents- I do collect them obviously, but it's inspiring to hear about their ongoing oeuvres.

And so we whiled away an hour or two catching up on doings and families, and then I bid her a wet farewell, thanking my lucky stars that there was no urgent need for me to exit the nest.

I have the afternoon to myself while I await the homecoming of a dripping Lord and his sodden belongings.

Now will it be a crossword, reading, blipping, or housework?
I don't think it will be too hard to make a decision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.