Pics from Zone Flâneur

By paulperton

Sunset over the Cape Peninsula

Another long day of work then lectures at Summer School. Still, if I'd been at home, I'd probably have missed these few precious moments, as the sun dropped out from behind a bank of low cloud on its way to the other side of the world.

Taken with my D2x and trusty 105mm f2.5 manual Nikkor and a 8X ND filter - in Africa, there is either blazing sunshine, or in the blink of an eye, darkness. The ND filter works really well in levelling the exposure playing fields just a bit.

Cape Point is on the extreme left and if you look very closely you can just make out the bright flash of the lighthouse perched on the rocks at the very end of the continent.

For the pedantic, Cape Point isn't the most southerly point; that honour goes to Cape Agulhas, about 180km east of here, but we won't tell anyone, OK?

Interestingly, as I started keying-in my daily tale, The Fixx' "Treasure it" popped-up on my iTunes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.