Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Love is the Answer.....

A funny little story from breakfast yesterday morning:

My daughter: I wanna watch kiddy ca-toons (cartoons) Mommy.

Me: Let's talk instead.

I no wanna talk!

What's your favorite color?

Ye-LLOW! (She says in an irritated tone)

(I laugh, she laughs)

What do you want to be when you grow up?

A Bal-ler-ina.

What's your favorite toy?

My Hoon-coon (unicorn)

Do you have any questions for me?

What da you want to be when you's grows up?

Hmmm.....what do you think that I should be when I grow up?

The sun.

The sun? (Laughing) Why?

Because I can't see in a dark when da sun's not up so you should be da sun when you grows up.

-----------

Today we tried out a new local church. This has been something that I have wanted to do for a very long time. I have tried out a few churches over the past few years in our area but neither seemed like the right fit. I had heard some good things about this particular one and decided that today would be the day to check it out. And I am beyond happy that we did. I really am.

We walked into the front door not expecting to know anyone and instantly a guy that my husband works with came walking up with a welcoming smile. Aaaah, we knew someone. That made things so much more comfortable. He took us to the kid's Sunday School wing and introduced us around. I was beyond impressed with the kid's area. It was bright and cheery. There were kids walking into classrooms. A nursery full of babies. A colorful room for the toddlers. I wondered how our kids would do being divided up on the first day. The 3's class for our daughter and the 5's class for our son. But they had no problem with it and they loved it.

And the sermon was exactly what I had hoped for. And there was another family there that we know too. The music was light. Don't get me wrong, I love to sing along but sometimes the singing can go on and on and on and on. The way this was set up was more like a 'listen to a band sing and sing along if you'd like'. The lead singer was awesome. I kept looking around wondering if someone was in the congregation to sign him up for a record deal. Three guitarists, a drummer, and two back-up singers. And it was pop music. Christian Pop. The Preacher was really laid back. He spoke to us in a way that showed that he can relate to everyone and everyday life. He didn't just speak at us. He pulled us all into his message with real life stories and experiences. He used to be a Chaplain for the Fire Department, Police, FBI, and SWAT. And his message today spoke to every single one of us in the room. Forgiveness. How to forgive so that you can let go of the rage and bitterness in your heart. How to be Selfless in our love instead of Selfish.

To Forgive= To Heal Pain.

I felt inspired this morning. I had finally taken the steps towards finding an establishment that I hoped would work for our family. My husband and I were both raised with a foundation of faith and it has been important to me, to both of us, to do the same for our children. As adults, we are both tuned into our beliefs, morals and core foundations. We are tuned in and are able to make solid decisions because our parents provided those kind of experiences for us. So now it is time to start providing the same kind of experiences for our son and our daughter. After church I asked my daughter how she liked Sunday School and she said, "Mommy, I learned about Jesus too......just like you guys!" and then she said, "I played with friends Mommy and guess what?.....They liked me!" Oh it was so cute. My son loved it. He made a friend right off the bat and the teacher selected him as the 'helper of the day'. He loves being the 'helper of the day'. They each came out with artwork. And most importantly, they came out of their classes with huge genuine smiles. Tonight I feel comfort in the fact that a big parenting goal of ours has been accomplished today........we found a church. A place where we can surround ourselves with positivity, grow as people, and continue to thank the Lord for all of our daily blessings.

---------------

And one last thought that my photo made me think of today, growing up my Uncle (who we thought was the funniest person on the planet) would always say to us:

What is the answer to all your questions??????

And we'd wait for it............

LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE!!!!!!!!!! He would say.

And it's still funny every time he says it.

----------------

I posted a cool backblip for yesterday if you want to check it out............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.