Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

One Day at a Time....

I am starting blip 1 of 4 backblips......I can't believe that I let four days go by without uploading my photos...but when I think back on the last four days.....it all makes sense. My new motto for the last several days: One day at a time....

FRIDAY EVENING:

I had just blipped my Friday's photo early because we were headed out to join some good friends for a BBQ. On our way out the door, I got a text from my good friend who just had a baby telling me that her husband was devouring the enchiladas that I had swung by her house a couple of hours earlier. I texted her back something funny and then she responded with something even funnier, as usual. Then right as we pulled up to our friend's house, my phone beeped with another text from her. Okay she has something else sassy to say. So I opened the message and was faced with this: "Heading to the hospital right now with the baby". I was stunned. I was just at her house a couple of hours earlier and had held sweet baby boy for such a long time. He had a bit of jaundice but otherwise was a happy sleeping newborn baby. I called her but got voicemail. I sent a quick text and then went inside to greet our friends and let them know why I was a little preoccupied at the moment. They all know my friend and were sick with worry. As the evening went on, I started to get bits of information from her. When I found out that their 4 year old was with them at the hospital, I told her (because you have to tell her, not ask...when she needs help) that we would be downtown in a half an hour to get her son. She texted back, "okay, this time I will ask for help and say, yes please".

A half an hour later, my husband, little girl and I pulled up to the hospital still without any idea of what was going on. All we knew was that it was something serious with the baby. As my friend's husband brought out their son, I ran in to see if I could see her for a few minutes. The staff let me right in and when I pulled back the curtain......my strong sassy talking friend was sitting on the side of the bed hovered over her tiny little baby boy. Her face was streaked with tears and when she saw me, she broke down crying. I hugged her and she cried and cried and cried. It was horrible. It was just so so horrible. I looked down at her baby boy and his skin was orange. It was surreal. I had just seen him and he didn't look this way a couple of hours ago. At that point, the doctors didn't know why he was experiencing the symptoms that he was. But the symptoms were too complex and there would be a full night of tests to be run. He had just had a spinal tap and the procedure left both she and her husband in a very fragile state. We took their son home with us and he stayed the night. Our son was still on vacation at this point and the two boys are very good friends and he was excited to sleep in our son's room. He and our daughter were very happy to see each other.

SATURDAY:

The next morning, I was faced with a dilemma.....go out of town for our girl's night or skip it due to the circumstances. My good girlfriend had arranged for her son to spend the next few days with her Mom and said that her baby was stable, the doctors would just be running tests until Sunday. And then she added, "And don't you dare not go out of town with the girls". When I realized that everyone was going to be taken care of and that there wasn't anything else that I could do, I did decide to go ahead and meet the girls. She was a part of the girl's weekend last year and knows the group well. As you can imagine, they were all so worried. When I walked into the restaurant to meet them all, they all stood up and gave me hugs and had tears in their eyes. The support was wonderful. My phone was in my pocket all day and she would send updates as they came. The baby was battling an infection and appeared to be responding to the antibiotics. It was just a waiting game. A long waiting game.

This blip was taken at our favorite little boutique......I will explain the day in my next blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.