It goes against the grain

I went out today with just the pinhole Lensbaby. Well, just the Lensbaby and a 50mm just in case. And I have to say it was a struggle. It's the problem of seeing immediately what the camera has seen and the immediate reaction to it being something along the lines of "Jesus that's shite", resisting the urge to delete it and slap the 50mm on instead. It's odd because I like my panoramic Holga pinhole. I like all my old cameras with their dodgy lenses. I like my 5x4 pinhole. Maybe it's that I see them almost finished - black and white scans from negatives rather than noisy, colour positives with much work still to be done. Maybe it's the pinhole on a cropped sensor - the large negatives are much sharper and more detailed. Maybe it's the stupidity of putting a pinhole lens on a £1000 camera.

It was all made worse by getting a rather nice photo of a biker just as I came out of the coffee shop at lunchtime. He was just pulling on his helmet and getting ready to go and I thought, "got to". Needless to say I then spent too long swapping lenses, fixing all the settings on the camera and generally faffing.

Still, plug on and see where this takes me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.