a town called E.

By Eej

Carpe Diem


It took me a while to be able to justify our going to Holland today for the Tulip Time Parade. We are doing well in not spending money that we don't have, but this last week has, once again, reminded me that life is short and in stead of constantly worrying, I need to enjoy it too.
So, we hoisted a jet-lagged Laurence in the car and headed north. Weather.com was wrong when it told us it would be dry until 4, but remarkably, the skies cleared up enough by the time we got to Holland. Yay!
The Klompen Dancers were ready to show off their skills as we arrived in town. They are now called Dutch Dancers which, in our opinion does not cover the load at ALL. When I bust a move, I'm a Dutch dancer. When I bust a move in my wooden shoes, I'm a Klompen dancer. It's all in the subtleties.
Eh.
The premier bands were next, one of them being our neighbours from Mattawan. I SO love a good drumline. It's my main reason for wanting to see the Parade, and it's only slightly hindered by the fact they make me cry. Not single-tear cry, no full-blown blubber. Thankfully I had a camera to hide behind.
As we walked back to the car after what seemed like hours and hours we heard a one-man-band streetperformer play a jaunty tune. He'd gathered quite a crowd around him, and everyone was having fun. I was quite smitten with the fact he was standing in front of a sculpture of child musicians. So fitting.

Laurence had many things to say about the Dutch, tulips, the smell of greasy food and the sound of clogs on pavement, but overall he said he had a wonderful time. And so did we :)

Alternates:
Touristy shot Lar made me take.
Shoo Be Doo, really?
Shiny.

ps. Mr. One-Man-Band, if you happen to see this and like the photo, I'd be happy to send it to you.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.