Lali's World

By Lali

The Royal Mile 11 - Edinburgh City Chambers

Previously known as The Royal Exchange, the Edinburgh City Chambers were built in 1753 on the site of the Provost of Edinburgh's mansion (the place where Mary Queen of Scots would spend her last night). It was originally planed to house several council halls, a library and covered accommodation for a Merchants' exchange. In 1893 the local authority took sole posession of the site.

It was build during the modernisation of the old town. During this modernisation many closes were covered. Only the lower floors were kept. The Edinburgh City Chambers used the lower floors of Mary King's Close as its foundation. This happened during the plague in 1645. Allegedly, the local council decided to contain the plague by incarcerating the victims, bricking up the close for several years and leaving them to die inside. Not very nice!

You can still visit Mary King's close underneath the City Chambers. It's quite a ghostly image. You just see the street as it was, but you can't see the sky, because it's all covered by bricks. It's quite a sight, worth visiting! It has a reputation of being one of the most haunted places in Edinburgh.

Feeling exhausted today. These last couple of weeks have been really hectic with one thing and another. The floorboards near the bathroom are still up, and I believe they will remain like this for a few days until we're 100% sure there are no more leaks anymore! Can't wait to have my flat back to normal.

I'm glad tomorrow I'm off. I really need a break and I need to catch up with myself as well. Can't wait to my long lie tomorrow!

Thanks very much for all your comments! I hope you all have a great weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.