Lali's World

By Lali

The Royal Mile 12 - The Scottish Parliament

Last of the series!

It was very difficult for me to take a picture of the whole parliament building which, as a matter of fact, is quite spectacular. So I contented myself with picturing just part of it. It sits at the foot of the Royal Mile and it's made from steel, oak and granite. It was designed by a Catalan Architect, Enric Miralles, who unfortunatelly passed away not long after. He draw inspiration from the surrounding landscape and wanted to create a building "growing out of the land". They started building it in 1999 and finished it in 2004. Needless to say, it was a very controversial building. They took much longer than predicted to build it and it was much more costly than expected as well (for some reason it brings to mind the tram project... hahaha). Its design has been often critiziced for not blending in with the old buildings in the Royal Mile. As for me, I think it looks amazing!

Had a day off today, so I slept very well, had a relaxed breakfast, kept updating my computer and went to the gym for a good session. I'm feeling really good!

Looks like the damaged pipe is not dripping anymore, so we're just waiting now for the whole thing to dry before the floorboards can be put back on and my flat can get back to normal. Hopefully, that'll be the last of it. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

Planning to relax for the rest of the day.

Thanks very much for all your comments! I hope you're all having a great weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.