Niddry Castle

A fine afternoon wandering around the oil shale bings of West Lothian as part of the Stills (Environmental) Landscape Photography course. Even though it rained a fair bit and it was windy as buggery, the bings more than made up for it in their weirdness. Of course, I've seen them many times off the M8 and M9 but never really been near them and certainly not up on top of them. Fantastic views across the whole of the Forth and Edinburgh out to the Pentlands. Internally, they are a weird mountain landscape of their own.

Before I met up with the course, I had a wee drive around and couldn't ignore the odd sight of Niddry Castle perched in front of a bing, with the swaying whatever it is in front of it.

Now for a sit, a film and a beer. Wild Target looks suitably silly. I can't believe I've just lit a fire. It's nearly June for christs sake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.