A Work in Progress

Oh my goodness, the ennui of it all!
It's a Sunday that held much promise but has degenerated into a yawn.

It all started so differently with having, what was to all intents and purposes, my own private gym. That's because no sane person would get up at that hour in order to climb a million stairs, ski a thousand miles and cycle a hundred miles.
I exaggerate, I probably expended just enough calories to eat a meagre breakfast of weetabix and yoghurt without adding an extra ounce of insulation.

Needless to say I had a wee lie down afterwards to recover while other folk finished their beauty sleep: life can be quite boring if the whole world isn't out to play.

Now having read the papers, I feel I should be outside doing something vaguely energetic, but the leaves are being blown off the trees in another too -close-for- comfort -isobar day,and just when I think the sun is here to stay, a sudden squall arrives from nowhere and the rain sweeps in horizontally across the windows.

So I sit and wait and wonder what to do to avoid the day's chores indoors.

His Lordship is comfortably ensconced behind THE DOOR with the papers and will only shift if I lever him out later. I could of course go out by myself, but what's the fun in that? No-one to talk to or argue with and I might have to carry money for coffees and suchlike. No, I'll bide my time until THE DOOR opens and I can pounce.

Meanwhile, I can blip.
Oh no, there goes another squall. THE DOOR won't open if his Lordship espies that.

This my latest work in progress. Now I just have to sew up the side seams and put on the buttons, and it will go through to Glasgow. I hope Nina likes the buttons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.