hello again

By admirer

BABY COOT FINALLY

The weather a little bit better I started optimistically at the pond nearby, and happily enough the two baby coots were still there. They have three parents around the nest. Sometimes one of them is chased but not for long. They have a work division now it seems, one is bringing little branches and another is refreshing the nest with it.
From there I biked along the park and found another coot's nest with three bigger babies. When a Nile goose family (with 7 young ones) came by they were chased away with great zeal. Somewhere along the route I waited for Piet Hein and we cycled together to the beach of Scheveningen. A capucchino at the Copacabana in the sun, what a treat. Looking at a company's outing where the members learned wind surfing on the sand.
Going home I told this story. I was going to a Zen school for photography, and I was told that for practice the first three years I had to sit every day three hours quietly, with my camera in front of me, not allowed to take a photo. Where would I sit?
Three kilometers from my home, I could go north, south, or east I thought. Going west I would sit in the sea. And that of course turned out my direction. My objection that I would be sick after one minute in a boat did not much help.
After three years meditating I finally could one day make a photo but with my eyes closed. I thought that would look like the photos I make when following a gull in the sky, only blue sky or a bit of a wing. But perhaps the picture shows a beautiful head of a seal.
Here ends the story and it was inspired by the book of Eugen Herrigel, Zen in the art of archery.
The shot of the blip was one of too many?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.