Feeling like a bit of a

dinosaur.

This morning, some very news savvy students were discussing the potential for time off due to teachers striking. They asked me about this and I told them about how my education was affected for a period of time when I was at high school due to extensive strike action. One of them piped up "Oh, in the Winter of Discontent? We learned about that in history".

In the Winter of Discontent?? After I regained my ability to speak, I clarified that I was only in primary school during the winter of discontent. Cheeky buggers!

The rest of the day was fine. No drama. Well, a little drama, but nothing to speak of, just teenage angst. A lovely afternoon and a conversation with a former pupil who has turned himself around and turned into a lovely man who is doing some work for us. "All those years, Miss, where you couldn't get me into this school for anything, and now, after a day working here, I don't ever want to leave" That was lovely.

Home, lovely weather, sat in the back garden for a little while. Then, around six o'clock, for no apparent reason, every last ounce of energy drained out of me and an invisible bus came and ran me over, at least twice. My hands have swollen like balloons and my legs seem to have lost the power to support my saggy beanbag of a body. Have not long since woken up from a nap of nearly 3 hours. I am soon to be back in my bed.

I swear it's because of the 'closeness' of the weather right now. I need a thunderstorm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.