The second half of life..

By twigs

Arachnophobia.......

Mark Twain said that courage is not the absence of fear. It is acting in spite of it.

If that be the case then today I was courageous.

For as long as I can remember I've loathed spiders. In more recent years as a home owner and gardener I've learned to accept their presence but I still can't bring myself to touch one. Actually, that's not quite accurate - the tiny wee ones are ok and I've even been know to play the money spider spin-it-round-your-head-three-times-whilst-making-a-wish game.

Then there's the slightly larger jumping spiders which I think are actually quite cute to watch leaping around all over the spot, although I don't let them jump on me!

But there's a size cut-off for my tolerance and my fear trigger is somewhere larger than a jumping spider. This one certainly triggered the adrenalin even though it was pretty lifeless.

So, if you're fearful of spiders you probably won't check this one out large
- but if you're courageous you'll check it out despite the racing heart, sweaty palms and deep breathing!

PS back-blipped last 2 days too if you're interested.

Wednesday - Behind closed doors

Tuesday - Cat tat

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.