Bradford

I had some time on my hands before the next bus after my Optician appointment this morning, so for some reason headed towards Little Germany in the centre of the city. There is all sorts I could say about this 'hole' which was created when the powers that be decided to demolish much of the Victorian Forster Square for a shopping development that never was, but my visit was more nostalgic than political. Little Germany is so called because it was once a commercial hub of the city housing businesses mainly set up by German Jewish families. Much of it is now empty or being converted into apartments. My mum worked in a sewing factory here until her marriage to dad, then in later years she returned to sew for a fancy dress company on Burnett Street. I went to blip it, but it has gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.