The bike shed

Not very exciting but this is all I've done today. Since Mandy packed the car with the weans and went home to her mother's (not in that sense, just a visit) I've been down at the garage assembling some old and new floorboards into a big 2m by just short of 2m door and the track for it to slide on. The bike canopy is turning into a bike shed with a door and everything. Just one wall to go and it'll be completely enclosed and reasonably secure.

Although I'd been quoted nearly £400 for the parts for the slidey bit, I found another place online that would do them for £100. Done. It's not as sturdy - rated for a 75kg door rather than 150kg but I had no intention of making a big heavy door. This'll do. Although the wood looks nice (if a little odd with its two-tone colouring from the old and new boards) it'll need painted. Maybe a job for tomorrow, if I get up in time.

Anyway, Mandy's away so I'm off out with some mates for a steak and some beers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.