Blipper's Daily (?)

By blipper

Neglected No More

My recent endeavours on the Time Machine Project had made me feel guilty about my neglect of an old friend. This camera had taken all the negatives I'm now scanning and uploading into the project and yet I'd been unfaithfull to it and replaced it with another Yashica for the forward travel part of the project.

So I gathered together the following items:

- Yashica FX-3/FX-7 Repair manual
- self-adhesive open celled foam
- lighter fluid
- bamboo skewers
- cotton wool buds
- an old leather handbag from a charity shop
- a tube of Evostick
- a scalpel
- some instrument screwdrivers

And then I brought my old friend 'back to life'....first I dismantled the base plate and freed up the mirror/shutter linkages so that the shutter fired again, then I replaced the mirror bumper foam, then I replaced the light seals, then I replaced the torn and peeling original leatherette with 'new' stuff reclaimed form the handbag and finally gave it all a clean and polish with silicone.

Now it's fully working and loaded with film ready to be taken out and tried.....now my only problem is I have to choose between two digital cameras and two film cameras when I go out shooting....still a good afternoons work (this DIY camera repair is getting to be a bit of a habit)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.