Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Pack Pack Alert

We got to Hollow Jnr Snr's cub hut 10 minutes before the end today to watch her get invested :) Following Saturday's trip to the scouting shop in Sheffield, she has been so excited and hardly containing herself since! So good to see this enthusiasm though following the disappointment of Brownies. I must have heard the Cub Scout Promise a thousand times on the way to school this week :)

That 10 minutes brought back a lot of memories for me tonight. I have very few connections with my childhood for a variety of reasons, and at primary school I did struggle to maintain friendships and engage with things over time. A mixture of awkwardness, geekiness and looking back with hindsight, a certain amount of possible autism or attention issues. Cubs was one thing I loved though - you didn't have to be all cool, or great at football, etc, so the pressure to fit in was absent. Everybody fitted in.

Just watching their pack leader was amazing - the routines haven't changed a bit! Nice to see Hollow Jnr Snr in blue six as that was the one I was in. I also had a flashback to a bizarre memory of rolling up my scarf around a piece of doweling to ensure it was perfectly tubular and lining up all the stripes EXACTLY so it looked perfect. Mmmmm - more autism clues :-\

I won't inflict that on her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.