Saltire and Blue Bottles

'Man proposes, God disposes' was a saying springing to my lips this morning when as daylight appeared the sky fell to earth and the rain came, borne on fierce winds just as I had intended to go out to execute a cunning plan with my saltire.
One look at the weather and I decided on an indoor blip.

Our plan to visit the new Decathlon shop at Hermiston Gait was also put on hold as I knew that the driving conditions would tip his Lordship over the edge and what might have been a pleasant morning's browse would degenerate into a trip to hell and back.

That means the running jacket that I had hoped to buy will have to wait.
St Anthony has been worse than useless in helping me find my old lost one; I fear I must have donated it to charity in a moment of beneficence and forgetfulness.

And so this is going to be a day of sticking stamps on envelopes and signing Christmas cards.
I realise that to some, this may seem somewhat early, but I have cards that have to find their way to the ends of the earth, and that may take some time.

Every year I think I should curtail my Christmas card list, but it never happens; at least not enough curtailing to lighten my load as new friends take the place of those neighbours from far off days whom I never see but continue to send cards to.

I have often wondered if anyone would notice if I sent no cards at all.. now there's a thought? Perhaps next year.

And the rain continues, horizontal at times, with the odd second of sun to lighten the gloom. People scuttle past, bent into the weather with useless umbrellas and happed up against the chill, while I watch the outside scene from my ringside seat, warm and dry.

EDIT- I've just looked at my entry for 2 years ago, and guess what, it was a day just like today weatherwise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.