The second half of life..

By twigs

A fun game.......

Many years ago (it feels like it was in another life) I used to play a bit of basketball. We trained and played, and played and trained some more and, although we were never going to rise to Olympic heights, we weren't too bad. We had a lot of fun and when I look back now I marvel at just how fit I was back then.

The years do funny things to the body but the mind seems somehow never to forget.

When a friend asked me last week if I was interested in filling in on the odd week they were short in their golden-oldies type team I said yes........never realising that I'd get my call up quite so soon!

So this evening I played a full game - no subs! - and it was so much fun! All the more so as we were playing one of my school's teams full of students I know - and we won!!

Old Brains 1, Youthful Bodies 0!!

The frustrating part though is when you recognise situations and your mind knows what to do but the body refuses point blank to co-operate!

Maybe this is a way for me to regain just a small amount of that fitness I used to have but never really appreciated fully back then.

Bring on the next game....!!!

PS I sincerely hope I look nothing like this guy!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.