Mish Mash

( I know it's a shit title, feel free to offer any suggestions )

Busy busy day with meetings and phone calls and seeing patients, which I love although I have been wandering round speaking nonsense and forgetting all the things I was going to do on my way to do them. ( It's ok I got the patient intervention bit right before you call Blue Peter or some other help line thing ). I have been wandering around in a smog.

I think the enormity of the last few months is just hitting me, I have been running off adrenaline and worry and now I can semi wind down I think I am going a little mad.

It reminds me of this fabulous poem by Jenny Joseph


" When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple

with a red hat that doesn't go, and doesn't suit me.

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

and satin candles, and say we've no money for butter.

I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired

and gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells

and run my stick along the public railings

and make up for the sobriety of my youth.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

and pick the flowers in other people's gardens

and learn to spit.



You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat

and eat three pounds of sausages at a go

or only bread and pickles for a week

and hoard pens and pencils and beer nuts and things in boxes.



But now we must have clothes that keep us dry

and pay our rent and not swear in the street

and set a good example for the children.

We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?

So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised

When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple."


In some ways if that happens to me I shall have to simply say


I don't care


xx

Barbed wire on the way home through Heaton

I think I am beginning to like barbed wire shots as much as cloud shots.

Happy almost mid week at you all
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.