Memory

The lurgi hit in earnest last night, and I took some time to become human this morning. Spent the day mostly on reading the first bit of the first agenda papers, and after 5 went off for a walk and jog with my camera.

Stopped off in the Grafton Cemetery. Although the graves of various important personages are to be found somewhere in this cemetery (which is also partly on the other side of Symonds Street), I haven't a clue where. Will one day find out and look more specifically.

Never mind, this was a nice wee wander, and there were three rather similar headstones which I tried to get. One, merely because it was on the grave of Captain Duncan Matheson from the Scottish settlement at Leigh, connected to where my forebears began in Waipu.

I chose this one in part because these two men who Drowned in the schooner "Rona" on the Kaipara Bar, 8th August 1881 were two ordinary sailors. Their three crewmates also died, and ship was a total loss. Four days later the wreckage washed up inside the harbour. I have no idea why they shared a headstone, nor what happened for their three fellows.

I also chose this picture, because I like the light through the trees and the man and girl quietly enjoying a spot of sun amongst the trees, the graves and headstones, and the plenteous leaves on the ground.

I doubt that they were there to remember anyone in the cemetery, as I was not. Over a hundred years later, does anyone still acknowledge the memory of any of those here? How long will any of us be remembered for? Rather than being remembered, perhaps it is better to be incorporated into the persons left behind, in a good and positive way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.