The second half of life..

By twigs

Aligning stars

A few nights ago - between agreeing to buy my campervan 3 weeks ago and (finally!) getting it yesterday - it went through my mind that it would be cool to have someone rent my house over next summer so I could trip around in the van. I even remember telling myself that I should 'put it out there' and ask for it to happen.

Last night out of the blue I received an email request in response to my 'holiday home' listing (I've had one enquiry in 6 months) - a Canadian couple who spend their winter over here would like to rent my house for 4 months from the beginning of December.

Yikes! My rentals are usually just for a few days or a couple of weeks maximum. My first reaction was that I couldn't do it - no problems for the summer holiday, but all of Term 1 too . . . . not possible. I drafted an email saying 'Sorry - no' - but I saved it as a draft, I didn't send it . . . .

I talked with M briefly at work and told her about it and she instantly came up with a few possibilities . . . . I let them sit with me during the day and now, this evening, I found myself re-writing the email and giving a tentative 'yes' response (well - I typed the tentative email but then hovered - it was something from elsewhere within me that caused me to suddenly reach out and hit the 'send' button without any further thought! Ooooh - too late now!!)

Double yikes!! I have no idea how it would work or even if it would work but something in me during the day reminded me of the 3 words I am dropping from my personal vocabulary. I have no room for 'can't' . . . . .

I'll now wait and see what happens . . . . . but whatever happens I'm feeling very good about making a positive change, about recognising my defensive 'default settings', seeing them for what they are and shelving them before they dictated I continue along my old, secure and predictable path.

C - I really hope you read this. You've taught me well and I am so very grateful for your lessons, your patience and your friendship.

My stars are shining bright tonight aren't they Pudz? :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.