the edges of my life

By raej

wot the?

yes this bear does have her front feet bandaged and has strange sutures all across her belly - this is Ngoc Ha who had her gallbladder removed last week and has recovered brilliantly until last night when she decided to open her belly incision - for no reason we can find - so she was anaesthetised and cleaned up and resutured... two hours later she started again (using her claws also).... so this time she has "fake" sutures throughout her belly to distract her from the real ones and I've bandaged her claws, put woollen socks over them and then bandaged them tightly.... she woke up very confused....
this is so unusual - our bears usually don't bother their sutures at all (unlike pesky monkeys I've worked with) - we have a late night watch happening on her now and early starts.... she's on loads of pain meds and sedation.... we are all crossing our fingers - when I left she was snoozing on a bed of straw in her recovery cage....
outside it's threatening to storm so am charging up my torches in case of a blackout....
had another confrontation with the water buffalo this morning (on my push bike) ... and then found out my shiny new electric bike is seemingly rubbish and has to go back for repairs... hmmm did I mention I live in the mountains two hours from Hanoi? grrrrr
on the plus side - sweet Socks the bear I've had in hospital for a month with a severe stomach disorder is going home to his rescue centre (and his best friend) tomorrow.... also I didn't ride through steaming buffalo shit today.... glass half full eh? and I'm probably the only person in the world who can say I taped mittens onto a bears paws today :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.