Having A Vision

A six mile run today. It started off bright , which is when this photo was taken along the river, and then the ubiquitous British Bank Holiday commenced and I was running in bitter rain again. It was fine. It always feels to be out with nature but how on EARTH I managed 26 miles of it in such conditions a week ago is beyond me. It's like it happened to someone else

Had a big think whilst I was out running and decided that I am going to do a marathon again. How this had happened when only a week ago I swore ( and boy did I swear ) that it would never happen again is also beyond me..

I think marathon running is a little like childbirth. Hurts like buggery
( oh scrap that, it's an anatomical misnomer) , half way through you want to leave your own body and crawl away somewhere quietly and you feel battered bruised and exhausted but exhilarated. I think I have forgotten the pain and am focusing on the shiny medal again ( although frankly it would be easier just to write into Jim'll Fix It ) .

For me to endure it again ( the marathon, not childbirth) certain things will have to be different as I aim to slash half an hour off my time

1: The weather will have to be better and all that biblical storm nonsense will have to promise not to happen again. I have had words with the beardy one in the sky again and maybe if I am very good for the next twelve months and don't swear then maybe just maybe it will be a calm day

2: I will need to shift some of my extra weight. Short of removing my comedy pantomime breasts, there is no other wasy than to adopt a sensible eating plan and drinking plan.

3: I need to train for longer than 10 weeks which is what I did this year

4: The Misplaced Decimal Point Marathon is established making it 2.6 miles not 26. That would be a mighty fine race indeed!


It's all attainable ( well apart from no 4 ) The planning starts this month.

I read an amazing quote about determination today on Annie's Blip

"If you're going to try, go all the way. Otherwise, don't even start. This could mean losing girlfriends, wives, relatives and maybe even your mind. It could mean not eating for three or four days. It could mean freezing on a park bench. It could mean jail. It could mean derision. It could mean mockery--isolation. Isolation is the gift. All the others are a test of your endurance, of how much you really want to do it. And, you'll do it, despite rejection and the worst odds. And it will be better than anything else you can imagine. If you're going to try, go all the way. There is no other feeling like that. You will be alone with the gods, and the nights will flame with fire. You will ride life straight to perfect laughter. It's the only good fight there is."

~Charles Bukowski... American Writer

Good evening folks. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.