Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

..."Oh, Cr**!"

One more hour until we leave for the surgical center to get the much-awaited colonoscopy done. The hard part is all done and now all if have to do is show up, go to sleep, then wake up and eat! But, if I may whine for just a moment...that stuff you have to drink is the worst godawful stuff ever invented. Blch. Look, even Little Spunky the Chipmunk is horrified. In fact, Spunky is so off his game that when another little chipmunk showed up on his rock, he shrieked and chased it up the tree. Chipmunks ... who can figure 'em out.

As predicted, I spent a fairly wakeful night, then snoozed a little late this morning. Then decided to go out in the back yard with my camera to keep my mind off my extreme hunger and thirst (yes, I'm whining again - don't say I didn't warn you!) Lots of fun stuff going on in the back 40, as usual. The chickadees are flying too and fro bringing food the nestlings and hauling out poop sacks. The grey catbirds were singing and foraging at the edge of the woods, chowing down on bugs and grubs and other tasty, crawly things. The house wrens are singing up a storm in the birch tree out front.

And a gorgeous blue damsel fly showed up ad the edge of the woods. I had to take this with BD (not an optimal bug lens) but hopefully enough detail that someone can ID it for me. I've never seen one like this before - most of the damsels we get here are of the plain brown variety. This one was quite stunning.

I may drop by later - depends on how long it takes the happy-juice to wear off. If not, I'll catch up with everyone tomorrow. For now, Spunky and are are signing off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.