the edges of my life

By raej

It's complicated

A ridiculous 8 hours of travel to get from home in vietnam to Bangkok. Walking to the hospital I discover I'm in an Islamic area - pretty poor from the looks of it too.... Then there's Bumrungrad hospital - so posh I feel like I've strayed into a ritzy hotel by mistake and someone will discover me and kick me out....
The gist of it all is I need my left hand reopened and fairly extensive rummaging around to fix the damage the previous surgery did. Then a tendon transfer??? In 3 months time to give me a 50% chance of restoring my ability to have an opposable thumb... Hmmm don't see it's done humans any good - look how we've fucked things up!!
Oh and a surgery on my right as soon as my left is ok about it all...... So lots of pre op work done tonight (the procedure booked for Monday) I get back to hotel and they are calling me saying my ECG wasn't good and I need to go back in tomorrow and have my heart examined further...... So like I'm going to get any sleep tonight?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.