MATCH DAY

Early start this morning to go to Morrisons.  Then just pottered around at home not really doing much.  My back was a bit better but I didn't want to do anything strenuous and aggravate it.

Around 6pm I went out to catch the bus to Newcastle.  The traffic was horrendous. Took ages to get across the Redheugh Bridge into town.  Running late so I walked as fast as I could to St James Park.

Quickly took my blip shot of a group of drummers outside the ground and then went inside to my seat.

Newcastle were playing Manchester United.  Kick off 7.45pm. Hopes of a win were not high.  However Newcastle should have had a penalty in the 10th minute when Riviere was brought down in the penalty box - but it was not given. Manchester United piled on the pressure but at half time the score was 0 - 0.

There was a nasty incident at 39 mins where 2 players were spitting at each other.  They will be banned for at least 6 games.  And so they should - even though we can ill afford to lose one of our strikers for 6 games behaviour like this cannot be ignored.

So it was all to play for in the second half.  On the 65th minute the Newcastle fans were on their feet cheering.  No - not for a goal but for my favourite player Jonas Gutierrez coming on to play his first match since beating cancer.  It was a fantastic reception.  He went straight to our Captain who gave him the captains armband.  I must say Jonas looked fit and well and he put his heart and soul into the match.  However Newcastle let Manchester get a silly goal on the 88th minute and lost the game.  What a disappointment.

I quickly left the ground as I needed to get to the bus station fast to be in with a chance of getting the first available bus home.  Got on OK but the bus soon filled up and some fans were left behind.

Neil was here when I got in and he hadn't had anything to eat so I cooked him a meal.  By the time I had done this and a few other things I was too tired to blip and went off to bed.  So another day when I am blipping a day late.

Steps today - 9,714

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.