SNOWDROP

in my garden. And to my big surprise a tiny yellow winter aconite had her head sticking out of the ground too. I think that because we are higher up the hill, the aconites are appearing later than the ones in the valley.
We had a fantastic summerlike holiday today. Quiet, no tasks to speak of.
Sitting in the sun, reading, I a book, titled Göttinger Köpfe, about the outstanding, famous and reknown persons that lived and lectured at the university of Göttingen, in the last century. Most of them went through turbulent times, first the First world War, then the Weimar Republic and then the devastating Second War. Piet Hein read a thick saturday paper.

My haiku:

My colour is white
With just a bit of green too
Snowdrop is my name

And the proverb:

A white wall is a fool's paper.

1573   in J.Sandford, The Garden of Pleasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.