A WET GOOD FRIDAY

The weather today was wet and chilly and I would normally have stayed indoors.  However Neil had invited me to go for a meal with him and his girlfriend Rachael.  So I set off with my brolly to get the bus to Newcastle.  The buses were running a Sunday service today - only every half hour.

Got to town around 2pm and waited a few mins near Greys Monument till Neil and Rachael arrived.  She finished work at 2pm.  Neil had a day off.  We went to Wetherspoons for our meal - to The Mile Castle.  The name refers to the Roman forts which were built a mile apart.  There is supposedly one nearby.

Neil and Rachael had fish and chips and I had chicken salad.  Most enjoyable - and not too many syns hopefully. Afterwards Rachael went off to do some shopping, Neil walked home to his own place and I had a mooch around town for a bit.

I was going to just take a shot of The Mile Castle but decided to get Neil in the shot too.  This lovely old building used to be The Trustee Savings Bank when I was a child.  I had an account there and I would save up my pennies in a money box which they provided.  It was shaped like a book.  You could put money in but you couldn't get it out until you took the book to the TSB cashier who would open it with a key and then the money would go into your account.  I remember my Dad taking me to this branch on Saturday mornings when I was quite small. I'm glad it has a new lease of life.  It was packed out today.

My thumbnail shows Neil's feet.  He is wearing totally unsuitable shoes for the weather.  They are white cotton plimsolls.  I told him he should have worn more appropriate shoes but he said  "It's OK - I'm sweet "  This is his typical answer when I'm nagging him.  He probably was  " sweet "  as he is clutching a carrier bag containing his chocolate Easter eggs.  I told him he could eat one today and save one for Sunday. You are never too big to get Easter eggs off your Mam.

Steps today - 8,428

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.