SPREADING HER WINGS

A lovely evening to sit outside and have my meal there.
The air is soft, the quietness overwhelming.  2015 an amazing year for starting to live here all the time.
1915, must have been quite a different story. So awfully many families in fear of the outcome of the World War,
fearing of loosing their sons in this , insane war.
1815 The Congress in Vienna deviding Europe in their own interests.
I have read that no one of the men (or women?) in power blamed Napoleon for his actions. They all thought that they would have done the same as he did, if they would have had the opportunity.
Times have changed since then, but not totally of course.
I did not venture to go far away.
Piet Hein phoned at six o'clock that the weak little veins in his nose had been scorced, no more frightening bleeding as last Friday. Hopefully.
He had to go by taxi to Holzminden not far however from Höxter. And back again.
I'll cycle tomorrow to visit him. I'll start early in the morning, take a different route, at the other side of the river Weser. I had seen a stork couple in the fields last Sunday, could I take a picture of them?
The swan pair here in town, are already starting to make a nest. How wonderful it would be that there would be eggs that could hatch.
So many years now, when the nest was build in the harbour, no living child of them to be seen. Perhaps their chances are better now.

My haiku:

Hope always for the best
Sometimes beyond my powers
And has fate the last word?

And the proverb:

Fate leads the willing, but drives the stubborn.

Seneca, Epist. 107.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.