Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Meet Jackie!

This is Jackie Diels, the woman to whom I credit my improved facial function. In fact, I consider her to be a bit of a genius, if you must know. She is at the top of the field of neuro-muscular facial retrainers/therapists (in the world) specializing in working with people like me who have impaired facial nerve function. It was under her close supervision that I had approximately 24 injections of botox to the right side of my face/neck yesterday afternoon. And, as you can see, she's got a sense of humor, too! This was taken this morning while we were working on some new stretching/exercises for my face - you never know when you might need a skull to demonstrate a point... ! (It's not real, by the way, although we did learn that you can pull it's teeth out - don't ask.)

Botox injections went well yesterday - really didn't hurt and by bedtime last night I was starting to feel a difference. I can see some slight differences today in terms of some of the contracted muscles starting to look more relaxed. Full effects won't be know for about a week to 14 days, but I am very optimistic, as is Jackie. I'll follow up with the plastic surgeon in about a month, and with Jackie via video skype in a week.

I'm beat, and am going to retire to sit in the shade on the deck. I'll post some pics of the actual botoxing to my folio later with a link, for those who want to see needles in the face!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.