Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Houston, we have a problem...

So I stroll out on the deck to enjoy my tea and this is what I see, about 40 feet away. Yes, a black bear...eating everything from the Clothesline Buffet - suet, seeds, thistle, the works. He apparently stood on his hind legs, snagged a feeder, and proceeded to pull the entire line down. I'm NOT happy! And, to make matters worse, he didn't scamper away immediately either - he took his sweet time ambling back into the woods after I yelled at him and banged a broom against the deck rail. Then, not 5 minutes later, he was BACK! More banging before he ran into the woods. So, for all you folks who don't get so see black bears - this is for you. I am hoping not to blip him again ... But, if you want to see a few more shots of Bruin enjoying breakfast, Click Here for Bears.

And you may enjoy him in toothy large!

This means that the seed portion of the bistro will be closing for the season. Once bears have found a food source, they will continue to hang around until the food source is gone. So, with the exception of the nectar feeders that have escaped raccoon notice, the rest of the feeders are coming in. I had really hoped that the clothesline would be a good work-around, but it would seem that I have been outsmarted by a bear. Damn. I still have a couple of window mounted seed feeders that can be moved to the second floor which I will keep. Fortunately, there are lots of natural food sources for the birds so it is not as if they'll be going hungry, but I will miss having my front row seat. Ah well.

This also means that my plans of doing a macro safari at the edge of the woods is postponed indefinitely ...

I am seeing some changes in my face from the botox - mainly more symmetry as the muscle spasms release. And, definitely an improvement in terms of tightness and discomfort. It is pretty amazing how many things are being treated now with botox. I have a friend with chronic migraines who has tried everything with nothing working ... until botox. So, yay for the medical profession. Now, if only the insurance companies will catch on that it has medicinal application, not just cosmetic...

Looking forward to catching up with journals later - the trip to NYC put me behind on everything...

Happy Friday - and may you have a bear-free day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.