Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

P-Hummie, talking some trash!

It's summertime and, for me, that means hummingbirds. So, I will warn everyone right now - there are going to be a lot of hummingbird blips in the next few months. I can't help myself. Really, who could resist these little gems on wings?

Here you have the alpha male, P-Hummie, indulging in a little hummie-trash talk, complete with a bit of tongue sticking out. Poor P is a bit confused at the moment, torn between doing his impressive courtship flights to chasing any and all other hummer from his domain. And given that Darth Invader is still hanging around, not to mention an unknown number of females, is it any wonder P is at the end of his tiny wits?

I went out with my walking/birding/dragoning/butterflying group today for 5 hours today. I'm officially exhausted and have made the executive decision NOT to cook, but to have hubs take me out somewhere for a nice meal. I'm planning to use the Lyme's as an excuse - what do you think?

We saw some very cool dragons today, including one called a Petite Emerald which is apparently quite rare. One of the guys who walks with us is an "ode" expert, a fantastic source of info. He also identified several different types of saddle-bag dragons as well as some clubtails. No, I didn't get good photos of any of them... I did get some cute pics of both Green and Pickeral frogs though as well as some fritillaries and flowers - five shots posted on Flickr, starting here.

Last night while hubs and I were relaxing on the deck, I used my Coolpix to shot a 15 second video of one of the Daddy Downy Woodpeckers feeding a fledgling - complete with the cute little sounds they make. It's worth a look and is also on Flickr HERE. It is surprisingly easy to take video with that little camera so I think I may try to get some better footage of the WPs.

Happy Friday, people!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.