Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ticks? Yuck, I hate ticks. Blch!

You heard it here first - straight from the chippie's mouth - BLCH. And, yup, I've got Lyme's disease - for the second time. But I've caught it early this time and have started a 2-week course of antibiotics (the non-sun-sensitive kind, thank you, doctor!) I'll be fine. However, it wasn't the best news with which to start my day, resulting in a bit of a funk.

I went for a long walk around a lake I haven't visited for awhile then hit the farm for a few new plants and some fresh spinach and beets. Still feeling in a bit of a funk. Came home, retreated to the deck ... and was almost immediately charmed by the woodpeckers, the hummers, the cardinals, the catbirds, the wrens ... well, you get the idea. So many little moments to remember today ... Papa cardinal feeding one of his kids; downy woodpeckers fledglings all over the place making their plaintive little pic-pic-pics, P-Hummie doing his high-speed courtship flights (even though the time for courting has passed); chipmunks stealing my heart; and seeing Papa Wren busy building ... two new nests! What? Crazy little guy - Mama is still busy feeding a box full of hungry nestlings and all he's got on his mind is sex!

Anyway, I snapped a bunch of shots of a new chippie - at first I thought it might be Mimsy-boo, but I don't think it is. However, she let me get fairly close and when I shared the news about the Lyme's, she commiserated with me, as you can plainly see here.

Hope this gives you as much of a laugh as it did me.

Thank you for all the hearts, stars and comments on yesterday's hummer. I try to post pictures that have some special meaning to me, things I can look back on months or years from now and remember a moment - so when you respond in such a positive way, it truly warms my heart. Thank you. I feel a bit humbled.

xxoo
Debbi

And if you'd like so see some of today's other moments, 10 shots are posted on flickr, HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.