THEY WERE WET

the two horses that stood in the meadow along the Weser.
In the afternoon, despite the grey sky, we walked to Würgassen. Not many persons around.
It is often strange to look outside and think, heavens, why should I go for a walk in a weather so uninviting? But, after closing the door behind oneself, it feels so different from what you guessed it would feel.
We walked, sat on a bench now and then, and met the horses. They really have no shelter out there, they can stand under some trees if they like, but all night?
On our way down to the river we saw that a beech had fallen in the storm upon a house. It was already cut into parts, but one could see that the dammage was huge on one side of the house.
I wondered if it had happened during the night and shuddered at the thought what fear they must have felt.
I said to Piet Hein that in the night of the mighty storm and I had been awake several times, that I wondered if a tree could break down upon that part of our home where we sleep. Piet Hein reassured me and why would I not let me be reassured?

My haiku:

The horses come to us
Showing their wettness to us
We try to comfort them

And the proverb:

An hour in the morning is worth two in the evening.

1827  Hone,  Ev. Day Book ii. 477.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.