ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Abandoned Nest.

Really, really wet in Aberdeen today and as I hurried to work, head-down, I noticed this tiny nest in a puddle on the pavement. I took a few quick photos but as I was late to work I placed it out of the way in a nearby tree. Luckily, when I headed home nobody had nabbed my nest, so I got to pick it up and carry it really carefully home to photograph in better light. I just think it's a work of art. Little things like this remind me why I'm a biologist - how is it possible that a tiny wee bird has made something like this?

I had to look up an identification chart as I'm not really a birdy person, and to the best of my knowledge this is a Dunnock nest: 6cm wide; a foundation of twigs with moss and leaves; lined with moss, wool, hair and feathers. You can really see the wool if you look large.

Obviously the nest has been abandoned (I was glad to see no smashed eggs next to the nest), and now I've touched it I don't think a bird will use it again even if I get it back into a tree! I think I will take it into my local primary school to let the kids see it - breed a whole new generation of biologists perhaps!

Home to do a big tidy/hoover, and attempt to get to the bottom of my hideously overstuffed washing basket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.