Looking out towards Ireland

I think that the Shetlandish weather is having a little joke with us today. We were game enough for a quiet day today after a week spent chasing around the Shetland Mainland, but we hadn't quite reckoned on staying indoors all day. Well, I didn't quite stay indoors all day. I did stick my nose out earlier on to see what was what (it was wet), and then eventually I went up the road to see whether I could find a picture to blip. Of a very poor haul, this was the meagre best - a homage to the Shetland crofting tradition in the township of Ireland, across the way from Bigton where we are staying. Sadly, I didn't have quite have my camera to hand when I saw a hoodie thieving an egg from a nest in the grass opposite the cottage just now. Amazing sight - nature taking its course...

Meanwhile, we drank prodigious amounts of red wine yesterday, and today we have read books and watched the final stage of the Tour de France, and done little else. We'll see what weather and activities tomorrow will bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.