Let the festivities commence

Tonight was the switching on of the Burray Christmas tree lights.

Everyone gathers at the hall (well I say everyone but it's really those with kids and assorted relatives) and the kids all get a wee lantern to carry across the road to the tree. This year the kids had written poems about christmas and the two winners of the competition got to read out theirs to the crowd and then switched the lights on. Our tree is beautiful. Wonderfully tall (bigger than the one outside the cathedral this year), the perfect Christmas tree shape and covered in sparkling white lights.

Afterwards we all returned to the hall for our second Annual Family Fun Quiz. This happened for the first time last year and was a great success. This year the hall committee and a bunch of volunteers have worked their socks decorating the hall. Not just Christmas decorations but painting and refurbishing. It looks fantastic!

When we all walked in the place was full of twinkling fairy lights and candles. Another fabulous tree in the corner, beautifully dressed tables and festoons of evergreens around the walls. The effect was magical.

As for the quiz, somehow I managed yet again to be the only adult on my team. Unlike last year when I was lucky enough to be in the winning team with hunders of wee boys this year I was with 4 boys and a group of early teenage girls. Needless to say one side of the table avoided communicating with the other, stared at me as if I was an alien when I asked them a question and I more or less had to answer all the questions myself. Needless to say our team did not do very well.

In between the rounds of quiz we also had to consume large amounts of soup, sandwiches and cakes, not to mention the raffle... got to have a raffle.

All in all, a great night and an excellent way to start the festive season.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.