At the bottom of the garden - Winter's reply

My garden is a treasure trove of surprises. Each day, as I wander around it, it offers up a new secret for me to marvel at.

From the tiniest skeleton of long gone leaves, to a yellow marigold, holding winter darkness at bay.

To a flash of robin's red breast flashing through the bare branches of a tree.

To tiny lichens, silently creeping over walls.

Pencil thin leeks, waiting to contribute to Christmas feasts.

Tiny pink flowers, hiding amongst leaves of glossy evergreens.

Snowdrops, thinking about waking up.

Yes, my garden is awash with tiny delights, just waiting to be discovered.

.............

This was inspired by and plagiarised from Barking's lovely blip of the bottom of her New Zealand garden. It made me go searching for the hidden delights of my own garden on the other side of the world and on the opposite end of the year. Thanks Barking, I hope you don't mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.