Tree

Today's weather has been weird.  

I decided this morning that I should take a drive up through the Mackenzie country - doing the round trip - up through Tekapo and down through Kurow.  A nice 4 hour drive.  Well, 6 hours when you allow for stopping to take photos.   

The weathermen had predicted that it would be nasty in the Mackenzie country today, but I headed off very early.  There was lots of low grey cloud about but when I got up to Pukaki the cloud lifted and driving towards Twizel it turned an amazing blue.  The light was beautiful.

I had breakfast in Twizel and by the time I hit the road again the blue had disappeared (and so had the mountains) and things were grey and ugly.  I'm glad I took advantage of that one window of colour.

I took a new way home, turning off at Duntroon and coming north through Waimate.   I really enjoyed the drive even though I missed seeing any of the predicted snow.  

But I'm guessing by the drop in temperature that it's seriously snowing up there now!

Anzac weekend 2015, when I headed down to Wanaka for the Great International Blip Meet, I blipped this tree on the way there and on the way back.  I thought I'd blip it again, in yet another mood.  At some future point I'll have to try for it in its summer colours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.