Mackenzie Country - Twizel

Fantastic scenery.  I love the contrasts here.

Autumnal golden poplar.  Sere summer tussock scattered with 'the fallen'.  Classically blue and white autumn sky.  

I headed to the Geraldine dawn service for ANZAC day - but there wasn't one.  I got there at 6 and then found out the service wasn't until 8.  So myself and the 3 other strangers there paid our respects, stood around avoiding catching each others eyes for a few minutes then one by one we left.  It's gotta be said that I was the last to leave - but I was the last to arrive too.

I stopped in Fairlie to pick up a bacon and egg sandwich and a coffee for breakfast - you just can't go past that bakery there!  Back on the road, and from the moment I topped Burkes Pass the weather was glorious.  I had the top down on the car in 21 degree sunshine by 8.30.

It remained glorious until I came over the Lindis Pass - by the time I got to Wanaka it was grey and spitting and I had to put the top up.

Had a wonderful international blip meet lunch at Snowy's.  Did a lot of talking, and it was great to catch up with blippers I've met before and to meet new ones.  Thanks to everyone who made today so much fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.