Double HUBshot

Ruairidh and his friend W decided to accompany me on a bike ride this morning. Due to a long and tedious tale of bike racks and buses (which I may bore you with at a later date once the story finds an ending) we found ourselves not where we intended to be but had a great ride anyway. Even the weather was kind to us, grey and misty but warm and windless.

The lads were very patient with their ancient cycling companion and despite dropping me on various hills they would wait for me to catch up - I suspect this may be due to my cunning plan of me being the only one with a pannier and therefor I had all the lunch provisions and possibly that I was the only one who knew how to get home.

W was slightly perplexed when I asked them to stand of top of the mound* at Dingieshowe and hold their bikes above their heads but went along with my madness wwith only a slight raise of the eyebrow. Ru of course is used to such silly behaviour.

* the mound is thought to be either a neolithic burial mound or an iron age broch I'm note sure if it's been excavated to find out. One thing that everyone seems to agree on though is that the Orkney viking Thing was held here at one point. There is a flat grassy area at the base of the mound (to the right in the pic) with stone seats(?) around it, I'm note sure if this was where the Thing was held or if it has been created more recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.