Simon Callow

Fringe show #29: Simon Callow in The Lightning Conductor
I've seen Simon Callow twice before, in Equus and a Charles Dickens monologue and I really do think he is a cut above most of the stuff we see. There is just something about him, he has a real charisma and presence in everything that he does. Happily I wasn't let down by this one-day-only-at-the-Fringe monologue where he plays ye olde Sergey Diaghilev, founder of the Ballets Russes as he asks the audience for their financial and moral support for his innovative new concept in ballet. There was something special about the timing and mannerisms of SC's performance which made it feel like lovely poetry washing all over you. It was great, extremely technically accomplished, but not my favourite content ever. Nice enough but I wouldn't need to see it again.
Rating: 4*

I then went down to the Floatarium for a float and a fancy manicure. Yay.

Fringe stats:


- Total shows: 29
- Total cost: £74.25
- Average cost per show: £2.56

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.