Capital adventures

By marchmont

Left wing

I'm sorry, this is a rubbish picture, but it was the best I could do from the balcony of the Assembly Rooms.

Slept badly (again). Thank goodness for the World Service, the Shipping Forecast and Jim Naughtie. They really help me doze.

l and I set off eventually and fought, literally, our way down the Playfair Steps to George Street.

After, we went to Chez Jules and had a great lunch - very French, prix fixe set meal. L went back on the train at 4 and I took the bus up the road (once it finally arrived) and then had a rest. So tired.

#3 son is fed up with the management at the station, but it's only 3 weeks to go and then he'll be away.

An invite arrived today - for a wedding. Her sister's wedding was the last one we went to, 5 years ago. But they spelt my name wrong, it is sans 'e'. You'd think my cousin who has known me for all my life would remember that?

Discovered that someone I know sets off the Tattoo fireworks, and the Festival ones. What a great hobby!

And the blip - it's Mark Thomas and Tony Benn. We were at the, unfinished, documentary about him 'Will and Testament', followed by a Q&A. It was interesting to see early pictures of my colleague, Josh. It was an fascinating lunchtime session. He's slower and a wee bit frailer, and I suspect a bit deaf, but he's 87 and he remains true to his beliefs.

Good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.