Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Hummie-days

I held off as long as I could ... but today this young male was just begging to be blipped. First he sat on my deck-branch and showed me his tongue and pollen-laden beak, then he gave me his best head-first in the basil pose and then he found the miniature dahlia on the deck and we were both smitten. (SimpleMoments this is for you, as promised!) And he is kind of nice in tiny LARGE.

I also got a nice close up of the extremely shabby looking Royal Redness. I will certainly be happy when they are done with this whole molting business. But not as happy as I'll be when the bald blue jays stop looking like vultures!

I was pretty excited to be able to get off a few quick shots of the Hairy Woodpecker when he snuck in this morning. He looks like the downy, but is about twice as large and extremely shy. He also has a longer, thicker beak. He is a new visitor to our yard, having only shown up quite recently. I have been trying for the last month to get a decent shot of him, but he always darts away as soon as he sees me. I believe he is a juvenile male, so perhaps he has staked our our woods as his territory. Another new visitor to the yard today was this tiny little Eastern Pewee!

So, all in all, a good day. I worked most of the day, so these shots were taken in the space of about an hour.

Thank you for sending my Painted Lady to the Spotlight Page yesterday - I'm glad you liked her. There are a bunch of them out in my flower garden again today - such lovely things.

Mimsy sends here regards and has demanded that I blip her again soon.

Happy Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.