Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flying!

Busy day, so not much camera time. This morning, while it was still cool, I went out to see what was in the garden, and to check on the monarch caterillar (it's fine and eating like a lion). I happened to spot a little ladybug on my buddliea so I thought I'd take a few shots with the macro lens - and as I clicked, she opened her shell, extended her wings and flew off. Certain that I had nothing but an empty frame, I was pretty chuffed when I saw that I'd gotten a shot of the shell open. And. I loved the rich colors of the garden in shade.

My other two picks today are a close up of the monarch caterpillar, munching milkweed and a cute little hoverfly nose-deep in the buddleia.

I have to think that the caterpillar is very close to pupating - it's nearly 2 inches long and quite chubby. If it doesn't pupate soon, I'll have to move it to a different milkweed plant as it has nearly defoliated the one it's on. I'd love to be able to watch the chrysalis. (I know, totally geeky.)

(Update: I went to check on the caterpillar at 5:15 this evening and he is gone! The area near the plant is heavily grown with shrubs and trees, so impossible to see where he's gone to pupate - rats.)

Thank you for the lovely comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's hummingbird. I will tell you that it is one of my favorite shots of the season, so I'm quite happy that you all liked it too. More to come...

Two days 'til hubs heads to Alabama for the weekend. He'll be home in time for our anniversary on Monday, though - yay!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.