Imperfection

In an ideal world, we wouldn't need sprinklers. Buildings would be constructed from non-flamable materials. In an ideal world, the surface of paint wouldn't be marred by the stroke of the brush. In an ideal world, plasterboard would never absorb moisture, never shrink, never crack. Wouldn't it be boring though?

Today we finished relatively early so I've managed to catch up with about a tenth of my backlog of notes and e-mails. Still, it's a start. Later we sat and watched the first two episodes of Prison Break, which one of our professors asked us to watch as an example of the use of influencing skills. I can sort of see where she is coming from, but there are also a lot of influencing skills I suspect she doesn't want us to adopt. Violence, intimidation, murder, torture, blackmail and assasination spring to mind in the latter category. Mind you, it would add an extra dimension to group work...

I didn't manage to speak to MrsCyclops today because she was out at a pub quiz with 77 and Graeme this evening, and I suspect we won't speak tomorrow either as we have a Burns Supper to go to in Boston. It's a networking event that has been organised jointly by the Saltire Foundation (my sponsors!), the GlobalScot network and Scottish Development International. I have brought my kilt to wear, which I suspect that will be a novelty in Boston!

One of the other guys on this proramme has also decided to start a blip - I'd love to claim to be his "inspiration" but I think it's really just because he has a new camera and lots of friends/family who want to know what he's up to. His journal is here if you're interested in checking it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.