The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Golden fleece

I had a feeling there would be another golden sunset this afternoon, so instead of having a break at lunchtime I left the office early to take in the view home to Arnside as the sun set behind the village. One of the more enlightened working practices enabled by modern communications means that we are not strictly tied to 9 to 5 office hours. After half an hour of watching this, I headed home and there completed my working hours for the day.

I felt a bit like David Hemmings in Blow Up when I loaded this photograph. There was what looked like a small cairn on the mudflat towards its tip that I hadn't noticed as I was staring into the sun taking photographs. As I zoomed in, it became apparent it was the body of a sheep. I have marvelled before in this journal at how smart the sheep are on the saltmarshes at dodging the tides. They do get caught out occasionally, and when they do, they are quite capable of swimming strongly for the shore. However, they don't all make it. And as we approach the New Moon, the tides are getting high again and the power of the tidal bore can easily overwhelm a ewe in the water.

I don't often use the clone stamp tool on PS, but tonight I have discreetly removed the little bundle that might otherwise have been recognisable when viewed large. Poor ewe.

ps the other little dots are gulls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.