The Way I See Things

By JDO

Spindle

I don't think this is the best photo I took today, but I've chosen it for my blip because I don't believe I've ever posted spindle before. If you don't know, these are the pink fruits and orange seeds of Euonymus europaeus, which produce an almost dazzling spectacle at this time of year. Having said which, I planted a Euonymus in our front garden a few years ago, and I'm still waiting for it to do something interesting; this one was growing near the greenhouse at Croome, where R and I went for a walk this morning in glorious sunshine. I'm fairly sure I'd have made a better fist of this photo if I'd had a macro with me, but a bad workman, etc., etc.

A fun fact about Euonymous: the wood is very hard, and can be sharpened to a point, and it was used at one time to make spindles for spinning wool - which I guess is how it came by its common name. A less fun fact: these fruits and seeds are poisonous, especially to small children, who might well eat them thinking they're sweets. The leaves of the shrub are the preferred larval food plant of the Spindle Ermine Moth.

Back at home after our morning out, I managed to continue my recent administrative winning streak, crossing quite a few things off my to-do list. I even did some dusting - not a lot, but some - and I feel that this fact should be recorded for posterity: it may well never happen again.

And now to this week's Tiny Tuesday results. Thank you to everyone who played, for giving me such a range of interesting and appealing blips to view. In no particular order, my favourites this week were posted by:

isbi
shirleyray
DonnaWanna
V1k1
Rainie

And - again, in no particular order - my Honourable Mentions this week go to:

AnnieBelle
Technophobe
Doyley22
ninniex
Mole
Aliscotia

If you haven't already looked at these entries, please do go and show them some love - I don't think you'll regret it!

Next Tuesday will be my last for now at the helm of this challenge, and I hope you'll all play again. The tag will be tt287, and once again, the choice of subject will be entirely yours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.